No account? Sign up!


By clicking Create Account, you are agreeing to the
GuitarPhrases Terms of Service

harmony: Dominant


Main Dominant 7 chord shapes

C Dominant 7 guitar chords

Scale intervals: 1 – 3 – 5 – 7b

  • Notes in the chord: C – E – G – Bb
  • Various names: C7 – Cdom7 – C Dominant Seventh

In the case where the third note is a minor third above the root, it is instead called a minor seventh chord.
In the case where the seven note is a major seven above the root, it is instead called a major seventh chord.

Any scale that contains all the chord tones of a chord can be used for improvisation over that chord.
The following scales contain all the Dominant chord tones (1,3,5,7b)
  • Lydian dominant scale - Intervals: 1,2,3,4#,5,6,7b
  • Mixolydian scale - Intervals: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7b
  • Mixolydian b6 scale - Intervals: 1,2,3,4,5,6b,7b
  • Octatonic - dominant mode scale - Intervals: 1,2b,3b,3,5b,5,6,7b
  • Phrygian Dominant scale - Intervals: 1,2b,3,4,5,6b,7b
  • Top