No account? Sign up!


By clicking Create Account, you are agreeing to the
GuitarPhrases Terms of Service

harmony: Major


Main major7 chord shapes

C Major 7 guitar chords

Scale intervals: 1 – 3 – 5 – 7

  • Notes in the chord: C – E – G – B
  • Various names: CM7 – Cmaj7 – C Major 7

In music, a major seventh chord is a seventh chord where the “third” note is a major third above the root, and the “seventh” note is a major seventh above the root (a fifth above the third note). The major seventh chord, sometimes also called a Delta chord, can be written as maj7, M7, Δ, ⑦, 7+, etc.  In the case where the seventh note is a minor seventh above the root, it is instead called a dominant seventh chord.

Any scale that contains all the chord tones of a chord can be used for improvisation over that chord.
The following scales contain all the Major chord tones (1,3,5,7)
  • Ionian (major scale) scale - Intervals: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7
  • Lydian scale - Intervals: 1,2,3,4#,5,6,7
  • Lydian #2 scale - Intervals: 1,2#,3,4#,5,6,7
  • Top